Fire chief candidate receptions begin today, Dec. 9

Fayetteville will soon have a new fire chief but not before the public has a chance to meet each of the final candidates.

Over the next three days, receptions will be held at the Fayetteville Public Library for Christopher Neal, John Neal and David Dayringer. Each event will begin at 5 pm and will feature one candidate. The receptions are sponsored by the International Association of Fire Fighters, Local 2866.

The schedule of receptions is as follows:

Wednesday, Dec. 9 – Christopher Neal
Neal recently retired as director of the Oklahoma State University Fire Protection Publications and executive director of the International Fire Service Training Association. He previously served as fire chief in Stillwater, Okla.

Thursday, Dec. 10 – John Neal
Neal (no relation to Christopher) has served eight years as fire chief in Harrison, Ark., beginning in 2001, and has been with the Harrison Fire Department for the past 20 years.

Friday, Dec. 11 – David Dayringer
Dayringer is a retired deputy chief and fire marshal of the Tulsa Fire Department. He was also the Chief of Human Resource and Training.

Originally, 31 people applied for the position which became available when Tony Johnson announced his retirement in August. Of those applicants, 10 were interviewed before a selection committee chose the final three candidates.

The fire chief selection committee consisted of Interim Fire Chief Kyle Curry, Police Chief Greg Tabor, Finance Director Paul Becker, Chief of Staff Don Marr, City Fire Department front line member Jeremy Jackson, and Communication Director Lindsley Smith.

Fire Chief Candidate Receptions

When: 5 pm, December 9, 10, 11
Where: Fayetteville Public Library, 401 W Mountain St.
Who: Christopher Neal (Dec. 9), John Neal (Dec. 10), David Dayringer (Dec. 11)