New aldermen orientation session set for Dec. 15

Fayetteville’s three newest City Council members will participate in an orientation session Wednesday, Dec. 15 inside City Hall Room 326.

The session will begin at 9:00 a.m. with a welcome by Mayor Lioneld Jordan. The new council members will review the organizational structure of city government and learn about the details of the council including agenda sessions, committee meetings, and other roles and responsibilities of council members.

Chief of Staff Don Marr and Accounting Director Marsha Hertweck will provide a funding and budget process overview. Select city staff members will provide other departmental overviews.

At 11:30 a.m., aldermen Bobby Ferrell, Brenda Thiel, Matthew Petty, and Adella Gray will serve on a panel to provide insights to the aldermen-elect. The sessions will conclude with a tour of City Hall and other city buildings.

Rhonda Adams, Mark Kinion, and Justin Tennant were recently elected to the council, and will replace Robert Rhoads, Shirley Lucas, and Kyle Cook, whose terms end in early January 2011.

“These aldermen have been great assets to Fayetteville, and their work in making Fayetteville stronger is appreciated and honored,” said Communication Director Lindsley Smith in a release. “Thank you Aldermen Rhoads, Lucas, and Cook for your dedicated years of service to Fayetteville.”