Art Amiss to release ‘The Hills Have Amps’ 12-song metal compilation

Cover art by Preston Graves

The folks from Art Amiss are preparing to release another local music compilation, and this time around, the Northwest Arkansas metal scene will get some much deserved attention.

The local artist collective dedicated to promoting artists with an Arkansas connection announced this week that “The Hills Have Amps: Heavy Metal from Northwest Arkansas” will be released Friday, Jan. 27 at Smoke & Barrel Tavern.

The 6-song compilation will include music from six local metal bands, including Vore, deadeyejack,
Hymns, Dragon Sunday, Ogham, and Lightbulb Detective Agency.

The album was compiled through a collaboration between locals Joel Bunch, Amjad Faur, and Eric Jensen, and was mastered by Douglas Horton. The compilation will be be released on limited-edition vinyl, pressed using a multicolored splattering technique that will make each copy unique.

Vore, Lightbulb Detective Agency, and Fauxnz Potions are set to play the release show on Jan. 27. Admission will be $10, and will include a vinyl copy of the album as well as a download code card.

After the show, the compilation will be available for purchase at Sound Warehouse and at Hastings, and will eventually make it onto Art Amiss’ newly-created Arkansas Music Bandcamp page.