Historic District Commission seeks volunteers

The Fayetteville Historic District Commission is requesting volunteers to serve on its selection committee to help decide the winners of the 2012 Preservation Awards.

The winners will be announced in May during the annual Fayetteville Preservation Awards Program.

The committee consist of three members of the public, one of which must be an architect. Members will be responsible for reviewing and approving award nominees.

Last year’s public committee members were local architect Catherine Wallack and Fayetteville residents Gary Coover and Laurie Marshall. Rounding out the committee was commissioner Annie Dowling and Ward 4 Alderwoman Sarah Lewis.

To volunteer for the committee, contact city planner Andrew Garner at 479-575-8267 or send an email to [email protected] by Feb. 2.

2011 Preservation Award winners

The Neighborhood and Heritage Award was presented to Kristina Jones, representing the City of Fayetteville Planning Division, for the Walker Park Neighborhood Master Plan in recognition of a significant community effort involving public and private collaboration to preserve the residential integrity of that historic neighborhood.

The Best Preservation Practices Award was presented to Polk, Stanley, Wilcox Architects in recognition of the extensive rehabilitation of the Historic Washington County Courthouse in keeping with the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards. The project was an example of best preservation practices in government and communicates a priority for the preservation of public and private historically significant structures.

The Respectful New Construction Award was presented to Jake Newell of the Jacobs and Newell Company for 522 Church Street in recognition of respectful design that is considerate to the scale and character of an existing historic neighborhood.

The Mayor’s Award for Outstanding Service in Historic Preservation was presented to Paula Marinoni in recognition of her service in historic preservation that has advanced the interest of preserving the cultural heritage and history of Fayetteville.

The Honorable Mention for Outstanding Service in Historic Preservation was presented to Charles Alison for his dedication in communicating Fayetteville’s history to create knowledge and awareness through emerging technologies of Fayetteville’s significant historic assets worthy of preservation.

Source: Staff report