November races firm up in Fayetteville

A printout of candidate filings in Washington County shows a rematch between incumbent Mayor Lioneld Jordan and former mayor Dan Coody, plus a crowded race in Ward 4.

Photo: Todd Gill

The filing period for municipal candidates ended Friday, meaning the races are set for the Nov. 6 general election.

Only two candidates filed for Fayetteville mayor, setting the stage for a rematch between incumbent Lioneld Jordan and former mayor Dan Coody, who lost to Jordan in the 2008 runoff election.

Sarah Marsh was the only candidate to file in Ward 1. Marsh will replace departing Alderwoman Brenda Boudreaux.

In Ward 2, three candidates filed including incumbent Matthew Petty, Ryan Abshire and Adam Fire Cat. A fourth person, Martin Bemberg, had said he would run, but dropped out of the race in July.

Martin Schoppmeyer was the only person to file in Ward 3. Schoppmeyer will replace outgoing Alderman Bobby Ferrell.

Five west Fayetteville residents filed to fill the soon-to-be vacant Ward 4 seat including William Chesser, Terry Coberly, Mike Emery, Alan Long and J.P. Peters. The seat is currently held by Alderwoman Sarah Lewis who announced in May that she would not seek a second term.

Sondra Smith, incumbent city clerk, was the only person to file for that position.

Early voting for the general election begins Oct. 22.