BJ Young and Marshawn Powell named to SEC second team

Courtesy, UA Athletics

Arkansas sophomore guard BJ Young and junior forward Marshawn Powell were each voted second-team all-Southeastern Conference players by league coaches on Tuesday.

This year marks the first time since the 2005-06 season that the Razorbacks have placed multiple players on the all-SEC team, and just the ninth time ever.

Young leads the Razorbacks in scoring with 15.1 points per game. In just two seasons, he has racked up 942 career points and his 47.5 shooting percentage in SEC games ranks 10th all-time.

Powell is second in scoring with 14.5 points and leads the team with 5.3 rebounds per game. He became the 35th member of the 1,000-point club at Arkansas in late December.

Both players have earned SEC all-Freshman team awards in previous years – Powell in 2010 and Young in 2012 – making them the eighth and ninth players in Razorback history to accomplish the task.

The complete list of 2013 winners is as follows:

First Team All-SEC

Trevor Releford – Alabama
Erik Murphy – Florida
Kentavious Caldwell-Pope – Georgia
Nerlens Noel – Kentucky
Johnny O’Bryant III – LSU
Phil Pressey – Missouri
Jordan McRae – Tennessee
Elston Turner – Texas A&M

Second Team All-SEC

Marshawn Powell – Arkansas
BJ Young – Arkansas
Kenny Boynton – Florida
*Mike Rosario – Florida
*Patric Young – Florida
Marshall Henderson – Ole Miss
Murphy Holloway – Ole Miss
Laurence Bowers – Missouri
Jarnell Stokes – Tennessee

SEC All-Freshman Team

Michael Frazier II – Florida
Charles Mann – Georgia
*Willie Cauley-Stein – Kentucky
Archie Goodwin – Kentucky
Nerlens Noel – Kentucky
*Alex Poythress – Kentucky
Craig Sword – Mississippi State
*Gavin Ware – Mississippi State
Michael Carrera – South Carolina

SEC All-Defensive Team

*Trevor Releford – Alabama
Scottie Wilbekin – Florida
*Patric Young – Florida
Nerlens Noel – Kentucky
Anthony Hickey – LSU
Reginald Buckner – Ole Miss

Individual awards

SEC Coach of the Year: Billy Donovan – Florida
SEC Player of the Year: Kentavious Caldwell-Pope – Georgia
SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Patric Young – Florida
SEC Freshman of the Year: Nerlens Noel – Kentucky
SEC Sixth-Man of the Year: Kyle Wiltjer – Kentucky
SEC Defensive Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel – Kentucky

* Ties are not broken