UA jazz combos plan free small group concert for March 31

Five University of Arkansas jazz combos will perform during a small group concert on Sunday, March 31 in the Stella Boyle Smith Concert Hall on the UA campus.

The evening will feature a new funk ensemble consisting of guitarists Dakoda Tanksley and Jake Pearlman, horn players Michael Hanna, Patrick Stevens and Michael Moore, bassist Clay Johnson and drummer Mike Roe. The group will play jazz and funk tunes by Herbie Hancock, The Meters and others.

Other groups will feature bebop-style jazz in trio and quartet settings played by guitarists Ryan Ashworth, Zack Plumlee, Daniel Dyer, John-Lewis Anderson, Ethan Moll, Jared Guinn, Kate Knox, Clay Johnson and others.

The concert begins at 6 p.m. and is free and open to the public.