Fayetteville named a 2013 Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year

Several city officials including Mayor Lioneld Jordan and aldermen Mark Kinion, Alan Long and Sarah Marsh were on hand to accept the city’s 2012 Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year award during a luncheon hosted by the Arkansas Municipal League earlier this year.

Courtesy photo

Fayetteville was selected as an Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year for the fifth straight year, according to a news release from the Arkansas Department of Human Services.

The recognition is given each year by the governor’s office, the Arkansas Municipal League and the Arkansas Department of Human Services Division of Community Service and Nonprofit Support

In total, 12 cities were chosen for the award based on efforts by volunteers working in each community.

Other cities receiving recognition are Bentonville, Blytheville, Clarendon, Clarkridge, Fort Smith, Heber Springs, Murfreesboro, Norfork, Redfield, Van Buren and Vilonia. The Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department will place signs at prominent locations along highways outside of the winning cities.

In Fayetteville, officials reported that volunteers logged more than 657,000 hours of community service last year — an increase of 100,000 hours compared to the previous year. Volunteer projects ranged from supporting the city’s animal shelter and working on the city’s parks and trails, to addressing the problem of food insecurity by working with food pantries, feeding programs and community gardens.

The award presentations will take place at the Arkansas Municipal League’s Winter Conference, which is set for Jan. 29-31 in Rogers.

Fayetteville has been recognized as a volunteer community nine times since 1986.