Nine FHS seniors named National Merit finalists

Nine Fayetteville High School seniors were named as finalists in the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program, an academic competition for recognition and scholarships that began in 1955.

According to district officials, the nine FHS finalists are Madeleine Corbell, Addison Cornwell, Spencer Finney, Annabelle, Hall, Ben Heil, Arron Koch, Laura Mantooth, Emma Mathes, and Amanda Roberson.

Officials with the National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced in September the names of 16,000 semifinalists who would have an opportunity to continue in the competition for about 8,000 National Merit Scholarships worth about $35 million that will be offered this spring. To be considered for an award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of semifinalists were expected to attain finalist standing, with more than half of the finalists expected to win a scholarship, according to a press release.

For more on the program, visit