Governor declares disaster areas in 12 Arkansas counties, including Washington County

Flood debris fills the water at Town Branch near South School Avenue on Monday following three days of severe storms that dumped over 8 inches of rain in Fayetteville.

Photo: Todd Gill, Fayetteville Flyer

Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson declared 12 counties disaster areas following severe storms over the weekend that caused heavy flooding and damage throughout the state.

Counties with declarations include Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Drew, Franklin, Logan, Madison, Ouachita, Perry, Polk, Searcy and Washington. County judges in Benton and Washington counties also declared emergencies (see declaration).

Parts of Fayetteville received 8.3 inches of rain from Saturday into Monday, according to the National Weather Service.

Extreme flooding led to several road closures, but all state highways in Washington County were open Monday afternoon (see current closures). Many smaller roads remain closed or partially impassable.

According to reports, the White River hit a record high of 30 feet near Fayetteville, up from about 4 feet deep before the weekend.

Temperatures are forecast to drop into the low 20s for the remainder of the week, but warm residual ground temperatures are expected to keep roads from freezing.

Town Branch photos

Town Branch Trail was completely covered with flood water on Sunday.

Photo courtesy of Adam Putman

A look at Town Branch Trail after the flood waters had receded on Monday.

Photo: Todd Gill

Photo: Todd Gill

Photo: Todd Gill

Photo: Todd Gill