Fayetteville firefighters recognized for service

Fayetteville Fire Station No. 1 / File photo

Several Fayetteville firefighters were recognized for their service and accomplishments at the department’s annual Promotion and Awards Ceremony and Banquet held earlier this month at the Washington County Sheriff’s Office annex.

The 2015 Fire Company of the Year award went to Engine 1, B-shift Capt. James Luther, driver-operator Thomas Winkler and firefighter Edward Maria. The group was recognized for its performance at an incident involving a cardiac arrest and motor vehicle accident. The patient was initially found not breathing and did not have a pulse, but the team’s quick actions utilizing CPR and an automatic defibrillator revived the man.

Firefighter Kyle Martin was named the 2015 Firefighter of the Year for his work with the Hero Half Marathon that resulted in scholarships for children of Fayetteville firefighters and donations to local non-profit organizations like the Cow Paddy Foundation.

Driver-operator Andrew Horton received the 2015 Fire Warrior of the Year award for taking on extra work and responsibility by maintaining the Self-Contained Breathing Apparatus for the department. He was also recognized as an instrumental member of the Truck Committee in helping to design apparatus for future purchase.

The department also announced a list of promotions and service awards during the ceremony.

Thomas Good and Harley Hunt were promoted to assistant chief, while Brian Sloat was promoted to battalion chief.

Justin Christie, Thomas Winkler, Jeremy Oxford, and Justin Clark were promoted to driver-operator. Tony Gage, Rusty Hulse, Brian Phillips, and Josh Hooten were promoted to captain.

Service awards were given to Terry Crutchfield, Chris Fallen, and Jimmy Vineyard for their 20 years of service with the department. Randall Coker, Brad Hardin, James Luther and David Welch were recognized for 15 years of service. Chris Boyd, Lucas Myer, Jason Pomeroy, Charles Price, Randy Woodard and Aubrey York were recognized for 10 years of service, while David Derringer and Carl Keller were recognized for 5 years of service.

Firefighters who retried last year were recognized and include Jeff Trammell, Gary Holland, Mark Stevens, Rusty Davis, Phil Dewey and Kyle Curry.

New firefighters who were sworn in by Mayor Lioneld Jordan during the event include Andi Mooneyham, Jordan Way, JD Hatten, James Blackburn, Kyle Coffee, and Martin Striefler.