Winners announced for 2016 Black Apple Awards

Photo: Heather Canterbury

Officials with Arkansas-based magazine The Idle Class and local arts organization Art Amiss today announced the winners of the 2016 Black Apple Awards.

The annual online voting competition honors Arkansas artists in 15 categories including maker, fashion designer, cocktail, chef, brewery, musical group, 2D and 3D artist, and more.

A showcase ceremony was held earlier this month to give voters an opportunity to check out the nominees in each category.

With nearly 3,000 people casting votes this year, the winners are:

Maker: American Native Goods (Fayetteville)
Fashion Designer: Korto Momolu (Little Rock)
Tattoo Artists: Matt O’Baugh – Black Cobra Tattoo (Little Rock)
Filmmaker: Angela Carpenter & Dwight Chalmers (Fayetteville)
Comedian or Comedy Group: Red Octopus Theatre Co. (Little Rock)
Food Truck: Crepes Paulette (Bentonville)
Non-alcoholic Beverage: Arsaga’s Coffee (Fayetteville)
Brewery: Fossil Cove Brewing Co. (Fayetteville)
Cocktails: Maxine’s Taproom (Fayetteville)
Chef: Matt Bell – South on Main (Little Rock)
Photographer: Kat Wilson (Fayetteville)
3D/Mixed Media Art: Cynthia Post Hunt (Fayetteville)
2D Art: Nick Shoulders (Fayetteville)
Solo Musician: Sean Fresh (Little Rock)
Band: Shawn James & the Shapeshifters (Fayetteville)