Send-off rally planned for Olympic-bound athletes on Fayetteville square

Team USA Olympic qualifier Taylor Ellis-Watson was recently selected as one of two Southeastern Conference nominees for the 2016 NCAA Woman of the Year Award.

Seven Razorback athletes competing at the 2016 Summer Olympics in Rio de Janeiro will be honored during a send-off rally at 5:30 p.m. Thursday, July 28 on the Fayetteville downtown square.

The rally is part of the opening of the 23rd annual Thorpe Cup, an international track and field competition between United States and Germany. During the event, teams are composed of up to seven men and seven women who compete in the decathlon and heptathlon. This year’s Thorpe Cup takes place in Fayetteville on the University of Arkansas campus.

Teams and delegates from the United States and Germany will be introduced first, followed by send-offs for UA athletes Taylor Ellis-Watson (USA, 4-x-400), Omar McLeod (Jamaica, 110 hurdles), Sandi Morris (USA, pole vault), Clive Pullen (Jamaica, triple jump), Dominique Scott (South Africa, 10,000), Lexi Weeks (USA, pole vault) and Chrishuna Williams (USA, 800).

Former Razorback Olympians who will also be in attendance include: Calvin Davis (Atlanta ’96), Reuben Reina (Barcelona ’92), Brandon Rock (Atlanta ’96), Godfrey Siamusiye (Barcelona/Atlanta ’92/’96) and Christin Wurth-Thomas (Beijing ’08).

The Thorpe Cup officially kicks off at 4:45 p.m. Friday, July 29 and runs through Saturday at the UA’s John McDonnell Field. Admission is free and open to the public. Fans are encouraged to park in lots 55 and 64.