Chamber to host series of candidate forums on local races

The candidate forums will be held in the conference room at the Chamber’s former location at 123 W. Mountain St.

Staff photo

The Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce will host a series of forums over the next few weeks featuring candidates from several local races in the upcoming November general election.

The forums begin on Monday, Sept. 26 with the candidates in the State Representative race in District 85, and will conclude on Oct. 20 with the Fayetteville mayoral candidates.

The forums will take place in the conference room at the chamber’s former office building, at 123 W. Mountain Street, just west of the downtown square.

The forums will each last an hour, and will include 5-minute opening and closing statements from each candidate.

The candidates will answer questions asked by an impartial moderator for about 30 minutes, followed by a question and answer period with members of the public in attendance.

The full schedule of candidate forums is listed below. For more information about the candidate forums, contact Taylor Shelton from the Chamber of Commerce at 479-521-1710 ext. 219.

Arkansas State Representative – District 85
Monday, Sept. 26, 6:30 p.m.
State Representative David Whitaker (D)
Dwight Gonzales (R)

Arkansas State Representative – District 89
Wednesday, Sept. 28, 6:30 p.m.
Irvin Camacho (D)
Jeff Williams (R)

Washington County Justice of the Peace – District 8
Monday, Oct. 3, 6 p.m.
Justice of the Peace Daniel William Balls (D)
Samuel Taylor (R)

Washington County Justice of the Peace – District 11
Monday, Oct. 3, 7:15pm-8:15pm
Joseph Kieklak (D)
Patrick Robert Briney (R)

Washington County Assessor
Wednesday, Oct. 5, 6:30 p.m.
Carol Waddle (D)
Assessor Russell Hill (R)

Washington County Judge
Monday, Oct. 10, 6:30 p.m.
Alderman Mark Kinion (D)
Joseph K. Wood (R)

Fayetteville City Council – Ward 1
Wednesday, Oct. 12, 6:30 p.m.
Alderman Sarah Marsh
Paul Phaneuf

Fayetteville City Council – Ward 2
Thursday, Oct. 13, 6:30 p.m.
Gary McHenry
Alderman Matthew Petty

Fayetteville City Council – Ward 3
Wednesday, Oct. 19, 6 p.m.
Sarah Bunch
Benjamin Garner Harrison IV
Tracy K. Hoskins

Fayetteville City Council – Ward 4
Wednesday, Oct. 19, 7:15 p.m.
Nathan Allen
Alderman Alan Long

Fayetteville Mayor
Thursday, Oct. 20, 6:30 p.m.
Ron W. Baucom
Mayor Lioneld Jordan
Tom Terminella