Recording studio awards free recording packages to 48 local artists

East Hall Recording / Courtesy

A local recording studio that pledged to give away 15 two-song recording packages as part of their 15th anniversary celebration has overdelivered on that promise.

After receiving nearly 200 submissions for the giveaway, owner/engineer Chris Moore of East Hall Recording today announced the studio will award the prize to 48 local artists.

“There’s so much incredible talent in this area,” Moore said. “We received over 180 submissions and quickly realized there was no way we were going to be able to narrow it down to just 15 artists. So we decided to get a little crazy and up the number of winners to 48. It was still difficult to narrow it down to that.”

Moore said the winners selected represent new artists, to more established acts in just about every type of genre. In addition to the 48 winners, Moore awarded a $100 gift certificate to every musician who entered the giveaway.

The sheer number of entries in the giveawya, and the difficulty in narrowing down the winners is a testament to the strength of the local scene, Moore said.

“There’s a lot of talk about our music scene right now,” Moore said. “Some people think that focus groups and large sums of money are going to flow down from on high to save our scene. But a music scene has to be built from the inside out by all of us working together. We’ll be busy with these sessions for the rest of this year, but we’re trying to build a foundation for the next fifteen years of Northwest Arkansas music.”

A full list of the artists that won recording time is listed below. We look forward to hearing some new local tunes.

Giveaway Winners

Amos Cochran
Ben Allen
Conrad Lenzmeier
Craig Gifford
Dominic Bryan Roy
Drawing Blanks
Eli Curlee-Strauss
Ella Rhodes
Ellis Ralph
Foggy Bobcat
Ghost Cities
Jess Harp
Jim Goza
John Charles
Judason Void
Katie Bredekamp
Keli Colvin
Kyle Enneking
Micah John
Mindless Souls
Molasses Disaster
Monk is King
Nathan Owens
Riddy Arman
Simeon Basil
Skye Pollard
Slow Beyond
Taylor Napier
The Chads
The Devil’s Teeth
The Phlegms
The Salesman
Tiger Funeral
Tony Redman
TV Preacher
Wax Kerouac
White Mansion
Willi Carlisle