Fayetteville’s Meadow Spring District added to National Register of Historic Places

The Ridge House, at 230 W. Center St., is believed to be the oldest residential structure in Fayetteville.

Photo: Todd Gill, Fayetteville Flyer

Fayetteville’s Meadow Spring District was recently added to the National Register of Historic Places.

The district is located between West Dickson Street and West Mountain Street, roughly bounded by West Avenue and Church Avenue to the west and east. It includes 76 residential buildings and eight commercial buildings.

The district is one of Fayetteville’s earliest residential areas, and features buildings with a range of architectural styles spanning almost 100 years, from 1870 to 1955. Those styles include modest interpretations of Gothic Revival, Queen Anne, Colonial and Classic Revival; and Mission and Tudor Revival. Eighteen homes within the district are categorized as Craftsman or Prairie Style.

The district includes The Ridge House, located at the northeast corner of Center Street and Locust Avenue. It is believed to be the oldest residential structure in Fayetteville, and was individually listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1972.

Properties on the National Register enjoy some potential benefits. For example, they may be eligible for a 20% investment tax credit if they are rehabilitated for income-producing purposes. National Register properties owned by non-profits or local governments are also eligible to apply for grant funding. Individual owners of National Register properties may be able to make charitable contributions of partial interest in their sites or structures, which can result in a sizeable tax deduction.

Meadow Spring Historic District