School Board election is today (May 21) in Fayetteville

Tim Hudson (left) and Dwight Gonzales (right) are vying for a seat on the Fayetteville School Board

Courtesy photos

It is election day in the Annual School Election in Washington County today (Tuesday, May 21.)

The only race for school board this year will take place between in Zone 5, where incumbent Tim Hudson will face challenger Dwight Gonzales for a five-year term. A map of school zone districts is available here.

In addition, voters in zones 1-5 may vote for or against the existing school milage, set at 45.65 mills representing no change from the previous year.

Voters may cast their ballots in Fayetteville at Central United Methodist Church, located at 6 W. Dickson Street in the downtown area.

Voting centers are also available at the Elkins Community Center (162 Doolin Drive, Elkins), Prairie Grove Christian Church (611 Wayne Villines Rd), and SEEKChurch (215 W Main St, West Fork).

Polls will be open until 7:30 p.m. this evening.

To find voter registration information, visit

More information, including sample ballots for all Fayetteville school zones are available at