Nomination deadline extended for 2020 Historic Preservation Awards

Fayetteville author and historian Tony Wappel won the 2016 Mayor’s Award for Outstanding Service in Historic Preservation for his book On the Avenue: An Illustrated History of Fayetteville’s US Highway 71B.

Staff photo

The nomination deadline for the 2020 Historic Preservation Awards has been extended by about two months.

The new deadline is 5 p.m. Thursday, June 4. The previous due date was April 2.

The annual recognition honors projects, organizations and individuals that displayed an outstanding commitment to preservation practices during the past year.

Anyone interested in nominating a candidate should complete a nomination form (available here), or contact the Development Services Department at 479-575-8267 or [email protected]. Self-nominations are welcome, and electronic submittals are encouraged.

Awards will be given in two categories:

The Best Preservation Practices Award recognizes quality work and the practice of preservation technique in restoring, rehabilitating, preserving or reusing a building, site, structure, or landscape in the spirit of the Secretary of Interior’s Standards. The recipient of this award will have maintained or carefully rehabilitated the historic character of the structure or site.

The Mayor’s Award for Outstanding Service in Historic Preservation recognizes an individual’s or organization’s outstanding and exemplary service in historic preservation, which may include funding/fundraising for preservation, instructing others in the field of preservation, advocacy for the preservation and/or protection of historic structures or landscapes, and promoting public policies that advance the interest of preserving the cultural heritage and history of a community.