Election filings begin for Fayetteville offices

File photo

Municipal filings began last week for the Nov. 3 nonpartisan election in Fayetteville.

As of Friday, five candidates had so far filed for office, including Mayor Lioneld Jordan who will seek a fourth term.

Four seats on the Fayetteville City Council are also up for grabs this year, as well as the Fayetteville City Clerk position.

The filing period ends at noon on Wednesday, Aug. 5.


No candidates had filed to challenge Jordan as of Friday afternoon, but one person had picked up a filing packet.

Tom Terminella signed for a packet, but hadn’t officially filed yet.

Jordan was first elected in 2008, and secured a second term in 2012. He won his third mayoral term in 2016 after taking nearly 70 percent of the votes and defeating Terminella (27%) along with challenger Ron Baucom (3%).

Jordan has been present for all 291 council meetings since 2008 for a 100% attendance rate. He was also present for all 238 council meetings during his eight-year run as a Council Member in Ward 4.

Ward 1

In Ward 1, there were no filings as of Friday afternoon, but two people had picked up a filing packet for the Position 2 seat.

Council Member Sarah Marsh currently holds the position, but said she will not seek a third term. Marsh was first elected to the council in 2012, and then re-elected in 2016. She has been present for 176 out of 192 council meetings for a 92% attendance record.

Marsh said that after eight years of service, she plans to focus on her career and would like more flexibility to travel.

Two people had picked up a filing packet for the Ward 1 seat, which includes a nominating petition requiring 30 signatures from ward residents who support a potential candidate’s nomination and who are registered voters in the State of Arkansas.

As of Friday, filing packets in Ward 1 had been signed for by Pedro Fimbres and Oroo Oyioka.

Ward 2

Nobody had filed in Ward 2 as of Friday, but Council Member Matthew Petty has said he will seek a fourth term. He was first elected to the council in 2008, and was re-elected in 2012 and 2016. Petty has been present for 265 out of 291 council meetings for a 91% attendance rate.

There were no filing packets signed for in Ward 2 as of Friday.

Ward 3

In Ward 3, Council Member Sarah Bunch has filed for a second term. She was elected in 2016, and has been present for 91 out of 93 meetings for a 98% attendance rate.

Peter Tonnessen signed for a filing packet for the Ward 3 seat, but as of Friday, only Bunch had filed for the position.

Ward 4

There were two filings in Ward 4 as of Friday afternoon, including Council Member Kyle Smith who aims to keep his seat.

Smith was appointed to the council in 2017 to fill a vacant seat left by Alan Long, who resigned after 11 months into his second term. He has since been present for all 70 council meetings for a 100% attendance rate.

Adam Fire Cat has also filed for the Ward 4 seat. The longtime political candidate ran unsuccessful campaigns for City Council in 2018, 2012 and 2010. He filed in 2016, but withdrew his candidacy after moving to another ward. Cat also ran for mayor in 2008.

City Clerk

City Clerk Kara Paxton plans to keep her seat for a full, four-year term.

Paxton was selected in December to serve the remainder of the term held by Sondra Smith, who died in October at age 65 after over 17 years with the city.

As of Friday, no other candidates had filed to challenge Paxton.