Early voting underway in Ward 1 runoff election

D’Andre Jones (left) and Tanner Pettigrew (right)

Early voting is now underway in the runoff election to decide the Ward 1, Position 2 City Council race in Fayetteville.

Voters will decide between candidates D’Andre Jones and Tanner Pettigrew in the race.

Jones took 3,108 votes (38%) and Pettigrew received 2,413 votes (30%) in the general election earlier this month, alongside Pedro Fimbres (20%) and Oroo Oyioka (12%).

Ward 1 Results

The final, unofficial results were:

D’Andre Jones – 3,108 (38%)
Tanner Pettigrew – 2,413 (30%)
Pedro Fimbres – 1,577 (20%)
Oroo Oiyoka – 988 (12%)

Ward 1 Candidates

The following candidates ran for election in Ward 1 this year. All candidates were sent a request for more information about their candidacy. Responses were posted in the order they were received.

» D’Andre Jones
» Tanner Pettigrew
» Oroo Oyioka
» Pedro Fimbres (did not respond)

In Arkansas, if a single candidate does not win a majority of the votes, the two people with the most votes head to a runoff election unless the leading candidate receives more than 40% of the votes and is ahead of the runner-up by 20%.

Early voting in the runoff is now available at the Quorum Court Room of the Washington County Courthouse, located at 280 N. College Ave., Suite 300 in Fayetteville. Early voting is only available from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Nov. 25 and Monday, Nov. 30. The courthouse is closed Nov. 26-27 for Thanksgiving.

The runoff election will be held on Tuesday, Dec. 1.

Runoff day voting centers include Baldwin Church of Christ (4377 Huntsville Road), Genesis Church (205 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.), Sang Avenue Baptist Church (1425 N. Sang Ave.), and the Yvonne Richardson Center (240 E. Rock Street). Polls are open from 7:30 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. on runoff election day.

For more information about the runoff eleciton, visit washingtoncountyar.gov.