2021 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame finalists revealed

File photo

The Department of Arkansas Heritage has announced the finalists for the 2021 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame.

The program, now in its fifth year, recognizes Arkansas restaurants, proprietors, food-themed events, and influential Arkansas restaurants that have since ceased operations.

Public nominations are accepted each fall, while official nominees and winners for the four main categories are made by a panel of judges.

Fayetteville’s Herman Ribhouse made the list of finalists, but several local restaurants received nominations in the four main categories, including Atlas, Bordinos, Cafe Rue Orleans, Catfish Hole, Foghorn’s, Hugo’s, Leverett Lounge, Mermaids Seafood Restaurant and Nomads.

Last year’s winners include Cattleman’s Steak House of Texarkana, Ed Walker’s Drive-In & Restaurant of Fort Smith, Murry’s Restaurant of Hazen, Scott McGehee of Little Rock, International Greek Food Festival, The Ohio Club of Hot Springs and Shadden’s BBQ of Marvell.

The 2021 winners will be announced on Monday, Feb. 22.

» See the full list of nominees

2021 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Finalists (by category)

Arkansas Food Hall of Fame
AQ Chicken – Springdale
Colonial Steak House – Pine Bluff
Dairy King – Portia
Dixie Pig – Blytheville
Feltner’s Whatta-Burger – Russellville
Herman’s Ribhouse – Fayetteville
K Hall & Sons Produce – Little Rock
Kream Kastle – Blytheville
Monte Ne Inn – Rogers
Ohio Club – Hot Springs
Neal’s Cafe – Springdale
Star of India – Little Rock
Trio’s Restaurant – Little Rock

Proprietor of the Year
Deluca’s Pizzeria – Hot Springs
The Hive – Bentonville
Pine Bluff Country Club – Pine Bluff
Star of India – Little Rock
Trio’s Restaurant – Little Rock

Food-Themed Events
Arkansas Cornbread Festival – Little Rock
Bradley County Pink Tomato Festival – Warren
Magnolia Blossom Festival & World Championship Steak Cook-Off – Magnolia
Our Lady of the Lake Catholic Church Annual Spaghetti Dinner – Lake Village
Tontitown Grape Festival – Tontitown
World Championship Duck Gumbo Cookoff – Stuttgart

Gone But Not Forgotten
Browning’s Mexican Grill – Little Rock
Dairy Hollow House – Eureka Springs
Habib’s Cafe and Delicatessen – Helena
Roy Fisher’s Steak House – North Little Rock
Uncle John’s – Crawfordsville

People’s Choice Award
The People’s Choice Award is given to the restaurant that received the most nominations. Click here to see all the nominees.