Early voting begins Tuesday in Fayetteville school board election

Washington County Courthouse / File photo

Early voting begins today (May 11) in the annual school election in Fayetteville.

This year’s election includes two contested races for positions on the Fayetteville Board of Education.

Nika Waitsman is seeking re-election to the Zone 1 position, where she will face challenger Miriam Smith.

In the At Large Position 1 race, Megan Hurley is seeking re-election, and will be challenged by Elisabeth Beasley.

There is no change to the millage rate in Fayetteville on the ballot this time around.

Early voting is set to begin today (Tuesday, May 11), and will run through Monday, May 17 at the Washington County Courthouse (280 N College Ave in Fayetteville).

Early voting will be available on weekdays only from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m.

Election Day is set for Tuesday, May 18. Polls on election day will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Voters can vote at any Washington County polling place on election day.

For more information about the annual school elections this spring, including info on other races throughout the county, visit washingtoncountyar.gov