Hurley, Waitsman re-elected in Fayetteville School Board races

Fayetteville School Board President Nika Waitsman and Vice President Megan Hurley were both re-elected to serve another term on the board on Tuesday night.

In final, unofficial results, Waitsman received 1,259 votes (63 percent) to defeat challenger Miriam Smith with 753 votes (37 percent) in the Zone 1 race, and Hurley received 3,912 votes (70 percent) to best Elizabeth Beasley’s 1,656 votes (30 percent) to keep her at-large position.

In all, 5,568 votes were cast in the at-large race, and 2,012 votes were cast in the Zone 1 contest.

Waitsman was first elected to the board in 2015, and Hurley was first elected in 2016. With their wins on Tuesday night, they are set to serve for another five years.

The election also included a district-wide vote to continue the existing school milage, set at 45.65 mills. The extension passed with 4,166 votes (77%) to 1,260 votes (23%), according to unofficial results.