Fayetteville polls open until 7:30 p.m. for special election

File photo

Polling locations will be open until 7:30 p.m. Tuesday in Fayetteville for the city’s sales tax election.

Voters will decide whether to renew the city’s 1-cent sales tax which was first enacted in 1993 and has twice been renewed. If passed, this renewal would add another 10 years to the collection timeline.

The tax generates about $22.5 million each year, and is split 60-40 between general fund operations ($13.5 million) and sales tax capital improvements ($9 million). That equates to about 27% of overall general operations revenue and 100% of the capital improvements program.

» Read more about the tax in our previous story

Aug. 10 Election Day Voting Centers

Voting centers will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Aug. 10 for Election Day. All eligible voters can use any of the following centers:

  • Baldwin Corner Stone Church of Christ, 4377 Huntsville Road
  • Central United Methodist Church, 6 W. Dickson St.
  • Covenant Church, 4511 W. Wedington Drive
  • Genesis Church, 205 W. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
  • Mount Comfort Church of Christ, 3249 W. Mount Comfort Road
  • Sang Avenue Baptist Church, 1425 N. Sang Ave.
  • Sequoyah Methodist Church, 1910 Old Wire Road
  • Trinity Fellowship, 1100 Rolling Hills Drive

» See a sample ballot