District approves four new elementary principals

Source: Fayetteville Public Schools

FAYETTEVILLE — The Fayetteville School District will have four new elementary principals when the 2022-23 school year begins.

The School Board on Thursday voted unanimously to approve new principals at Butterfield Trail Elementary, Happy Hollow Elementary, Leverett Elementary, and Washington Elementary.

Butterfield Trail

Jennifer Fairchild will replace Joey Folsom at Butterfield Trail Elementary. Folsom is retiring after 32 years with the district.

Fairchild currently serves as the assistant principal at Asbell Elementary, a position she has held since 2016. She has also served as an instructional facilitator and as a classroom teacher. She received her bachelor’s degree in Psychology from the University of Arkansas, her master’s degree in Educational Leadership from Evangel University, and her educational specialist’s degree from Arkansas State University.

Happy Hollow

Jay Mirus replaces Cristin Atha at Happy Hollow Elementary. Atha has served as interim principal at Happy Hollow since last fall when Dondi Frisinger left the district for a position at the Arkansas Leadership Academy. Atha will transition to an administrative position with the district’s assessment and accountability team.

Mirus has served as assistant principal at Vandergriff Elementary School since 2017. He has also served as a classroom teacher, technology integration specialist, and as an adult education teacher. Mirus received his bachelor’s degree in agricultural, food and life sciences and a master’s in agricultural education from the University of Arkansas. He holds a master’s in teaching from Harding University.


Christie Cremo will replace Chris Sputo at Leverett Elementary. Sputo is retiring after 26 years with the district.

Cremo currently serves as the principal of Washington District Elementary School in Oak Grove, Virginia. She has also served as an assistant principal and as a classroom teacher. Cremo received her bachelor’s degree in childhood education from The College of Saint Rose, and her master’s degree in education from Old Dominion University.


Claire Garrett replaces Ashley McLarty at Washington Elementary. McLarty is retiring after 27 years with the district.

Garrett has served as assistant principal at Root Elementary School since 2017. She previously served as a special services designee and as a special education paraprofessional. Garrett received her bachelor’s degree in education from the University of Arkansas and her master’s degree in educational leadership from Arkansas State University.