Arkansas women’s track and field wins program of the year award

The Arkansas women’s track and field program has earned the Terry Crawford Women’s Division I Program of the Year award, the school announced Tuesday.

It’s the first time the program has won the award, which has been given annually since 2009 based on team results during the NCAA cross country, indoor and outdoor track and field championships.

The Razorbacks totaled the lowest combined score of 18 points this season after placing 8th in cross country, 4th at indoor track, and 6th at outdoor track.

Arkansas narrowly beat out BYU this season, who finished 2nd in cross country, 8th indoors and 9th outdoors.

The roles were reversed last season when BYU finished with 18 points and the Razorbacks were second with 26 points.

“BYU won it last year and they have a fantastic team and program,” said Arkansas coach Lance Harter in a news release. “We’ve finished either second or third regularly. Now, finally, we get a chance to be on top of the rung.”

The top five programs this season were rounded out by Colorado (25.5 points), NC State (27.5 points), and Ole Miss (36 points).

Prior to this year, the Razorbacks were runner-up three times (2020-21, 2015-16, 2014-15) and finished third on four occasions (2018-19, 2016-17, 2013-14, 2012-13).

Arkansas is just the fourth women’s program to win the award. Oregon has won 10 times, while Stanford and BYU have each won once.

The Razorback men’s team has won the program of the year award three times (2012-2013, 2016-2017, 2020-2021). The men’s award is named in honor of former Razorback coach John McDonnell.

Harter said he’s excited to now celebrate that success for the women’s team.

“I’ve been at this business a long time, and this is a very special moment in my own personal career, but especially for the University of Arkansas,” Harter said.