Fayetteville election results 2022

The Nov. 8 general election saw only two contested races at the Fayetteville municipal level.

The mayor’s seat was not up for grabs, and there were no challengers in Ward 1 or Ward 4. The city attorney’s position was also up for election this year, but there was no challenger for that seat.

The results below are the final, but unofficial totals as released by the Washington County Election Commission.

Ward 1, Position 1

Councilmember Sonia Harvey ran unopposed and will begin her second term next year as a Ward 1 representative.

Ward 1 encompasses south and southeast Fayetteville, including the areas south of Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard and Huntsville Road. Mount Sequoyah, Happy Hollow Elementary, and Ramay Junior High School are also included in Ward 1.

Ward 2, Position 1

Councilmember Mark Kinion was seeking a fourth term in Ward 2, but was defeated by Sarah Moore, executive director of the Arkansas Justice Reform Coalition.

Ward 2, which is typically associated with the downtown and Dickson Street areas, includes portions of the University of Arkansas campus and stretches west past Garland Avenue to Asbell Elementary School, and north to the Washington County Fairgrounds. The ward also includes the businesses along College Avenue in midtown, and many historic districts including Wilson Park.

Ward 3, Position 1

Councilmember Sloan Scroggin was seeking a second term in Ward 3, but was defeated by Scott Berna, owner of Nelson-Berna Funeral Home.

Ward 3 includes several neighborhoods in northeast Fayetteville, including the Huntingdon and Candlewood subdivisions, as well as the newer multi-family complexes in the uptown area. Gulley Park, Fiesta Square, Lake Fayetteville, and the Northwest Arkansas Mall are also in Ward 3.

Ward 4, Position 1

Councilmember Teresa Turk ran unopposed and will begin her second term next year as a Ward 4 representative.

Ward 4 contains a large portion of west Fayetteville, including Holt Middle School, Holcomb Elementary School, and the Boys & Girls Club of Fayetteville.

City Attorney

City Attorney Kit Williams ran unopposed and will be begin a sixth term next year.

Williams has been unopposed in every election since the Fayetteville Flyer began publishing in 2008.