Elected officials sworn in before first City Council meeting of the year

District Judge Casey Jones (left) administers the oath of office pledge for City Attorney Kit Williams before a City Council meeting on Tuesday, Jan. 3, 2023. (Flyer photo/Todd Gill)

Two new City Council members and three re-elected officials were sworn in Tuesday night during a brief ceremony held before the start of the first City Council meeting of the year.

Newcomers Scott Berna and Sarah Moore joined incumbents Sonia Harvey and Teresa Turk in reciting the oath of office pledges read by District Judge Casey Jones.

City Attorney Kit Williams also took the oath of office Tuesday.

Berna defeated incumbent Sloan Scroggin in Ward 3 by a 53-47% margin during the Nov. 8 general election, while Moore defeated incumbent Mark Kinion 59-41% in the Ward 2 race.

Harvey (Ward 1), Turk (Ward 4) and Williams each ran unopposed in the Nov. 8 general election.

Oath of Office – example

I [stated name] do solemnly swear and affirm that I will support the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of Arkansas and that I will faithfully discharge the duties of [elected position], upon which I am now about to enter.

Ward 1 Councilmember Sonia Harvey (Flyer photo/Todd Gill)
Ward 2 Councilmember Sarah Moore (Flyer photo/Todd Gill)
Ward 3 Councilmember Scott Berna (Flyer photo/Todd Gill)
Ward 4 Councilmember Teresa Turk (Flyer photo/Todd Gill)