Early voting for Fayetteville School Board Election begins May 2

Staff photo

Early voting is set to begin on Tuesday, May 2 in the annual school election in Fayetteville. 

This year’s election includes one contested race for a position on the Fayetteville Board of Education, along with a renewal of the annual school millage tax, with no change to the millage rate on the ballot this time around.

Keaton Smith is seeking re-election to the district at large position 2 seat, where he will face challenger Heather Clouse.

Smith and Clouse will face off at 2 p.m. Thursday, April 27 in a School Board candidate forum hosted by the Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce. The forum will be held in a small office at the chamber and live-streamed from their Facebook page. Archived video of the forums will also be available after the event. More information about the candidate forum can be found here.

Once voting begins on May 2 at the County Clerk’s Office inside the Washington County Courthouse (280 N College Ave in Fayetteville), it will continue through May 8. Early voting will be available on weekdays from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. during that time.

Election Day is set for Tuesday, May 9. Polls on election day will be open from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Voters can vote at any Washington County polling place on election day. For a full list of those roughly two dozen polling places, visit the Washington County website.

A sample ballot for the Fayetteville election can be found here.

For more information about the annual school elections this spring, including info on other races throughout the county, visit washingtoncountyar.gov