Fayetteville receives volunteer community honor for fourth straight year

Fayetteville Senior Assistant City Attorney Blake Pennington (left) and Chief of Staff Susan Norton accept an award at the Arkansas Municipal League’s 2024 Winter Conference in Little Rock on Thursday, Jan. 11, 2024. (Courtesy/City of Fayetteville)

FAYETTEVILLE — The city has been named a Volunteer Community of the Year for the fourth consecutive year.

The annual distinction, which recognizes municipalities that address their greatest needs through the engagement of citizens, is sponsored by the Arkansas Municipal League, EngageAR and the governor’s office.

The award was presented at the league’s 2024 Winter Conference in Little Rock on Jan. 11.

Key initiatives contributing to Fayetteville’s recognition include the city’s waste-diversion programs, native ecology protection efforts, and environmental cleanup events. These include recycling, composting, invasive species removal, tree giveaways, and cleanups of parks, waterways, and community-wide Earth Day activities.

To celebrate the achievement, the Arkansas Department of Transportation will place signage along Fayetteville’s entrance announcing it as a Volunteer Community of the Year.