

Legislation Text

File #: 2023-1554

Council Member Jones recommends that the City Council pass a resolution to honor the 2023 Fayetteville High School Football Team and the Fayetteville Athletic Department.

A RESOLUTION TO HONOR THE 2023 FAYETTEVILLE HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL TEAM AND THE FAYETTEVILLE ATHLETIC DEPARTMENT

WHEREAS, on December 2, 2023, the Fayetteville High School Football Team defeated Bentonville High School by a score of 22-16 at War Memorial Stadium in Little Rock to win the Class 7A State Championship; and

WHEREAS, the 2023 season was the team's first perfect season since 1952; and

WHEREAS, Quarterback Drake Lindsey was named most valuable player, with 3,561 yards and 51 touchdowns in the 2023 season and an average of 45 points per game; and

WHEREAS, earning 7A-West first team honors were Wide Receiver Kaden Spencer, who had 59 catches, 1,025 yards, and 11 touchdowns; Outside Linebackers Desmond Peterson and Crew Kvern; Defensive Linemen Jaxon Oliver and Isaiah Perez; and Cornerbacks Isaac Pearson and Kasey Lehman; and

WHEREAS, Outside Linebacker Luke Roblee was named the All-Conference Defensive Newcomer of the year; and

WHEREAS, earning All-Conference second team honors were Kicker Nathan Kachel; Linebacker Jeff Miller; Outside Linebacker Noah Janski; Safety Eli Rose; Wide Receiver Charlie Graves, who had 47 catches, 546 yards, and 10 touchdowns; and Running Back Christian Setzer, who had 202 rushes for 1,243 yards and 13 touchdowns, including five straight 100-yard games toward the end of the season and two touchdowns in the state title game; and

WHEREAS, receiving All-Conference honorable mentions were Wide Receivers Catavion Taylor and Landon Luck; Tight End Connor Kryzanowsky; Outside Linemen Ryan Lunningham, Drake Orsburne, and Eli Carpenter; Linebackers Reid Slankard and Jadon Holte; Defensive Back Walker Evins; and Safety Joey Ogden; and

WHEREAS, the Fayetteville High School Football Team and the entire Fayetteville Athletic Department exemplify the spirit, character, dedication, and commitment to excellence for which we should all strive, and Mayor Jordan and the City Council are pleased to recognize them at this time.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FAYETTEVILLE, ARKANSAS:

<u>Section 1</u>: That the City Council of the City of Fayetteville, Arkansas and Mayor Jordan hereby express their congratulations and sincerest wishes to the members of the 2023 Fayetteville High School Football Team and the Fayetteville Athletic Department for their continued success academically and athletically.



MEETING OF JANUARY 18, 2024

TO:Mayor Jordan and City CouncilTHRU:D'Andre Jones, Ward 1, Position 2FROM:D'Andre Jones, Ward 1, Position 2DATE:SUBJECT:Council Member Jones recommendation

SUBJECT: Council Member Jones recommends that the City Council pass a resolution to honor the 2023 Fayetteville High School Football Team and the Fayetteville Athletic Department.

RECOMMENDATION:

Mayor Jordan and the City Council are pleased to recognize the 2023 Fayetteville High School Football Team and the Fayetteville Athletic Department.

BACKGROUND:

On December 2, 2023, the Fayetteville High School Football Team defeated Bentonville High School by a score of 22-16 at War Memorial Stadium in Little Rock to win the Class 7A State Championship. The 2023 season was the team's first perfect season since 1952.

DISCUSSION:

Quarterback Drake Lindsey was named most valuable player, with 3,561 yards and 51 touchdowns in the 2023 season and an average of 45 points per game. Earning 7A-West first team honors were Wide Receiver Kaden Spencer, who had 59 catches, 1,025 yards, and 11 touchdowns; Outside Linebackers Desmond Peterson and Crew Kvern; Defensive Linemen Jaxon Oliver and Isaiah Perez; and Cornerbacks Isaac Pearson and Kasey Lehman. Outside Linebacker Luke Roblee was named the All-Conference Defensive Newcomer of the year. Earning All-Conference second team honors were Kicker Nathan Kachel; Linebacker Jeff Miller; Outside Linebacker Noah Janski; Safety Eli Rose; Wide Receiver Charlie Graves, who had 47 catches, 546 yards, and 10 touchdowns; and Running Back Christian Setzer, who had 202 rushes for 1,243 yards and 13 touchdowns, including five straight 100-yard games toward the end of the season and two touchdowns in the state title game. Receiving All-Conference honorable mentions were Wide Receivers Catavion Taylor and Landon Luck; Tight End Connor Kryzanowsky; Outside Linemen Ryan Lunningham, Drake Orsburne, and Eli Carpenter; Linebackers Reid Slankard and Jadon Holte; Defensive Back Walker Evins; and Safety Joey Ogden. The Fayetteville High School Football Team and the entire Fayetteville Athletic Department exemplify the spirit, character, dedication, and commitment to excellence for which we should all strive.

BUDGET/STAFF IMPACT:

ATTACHMENTS: AGENDA REQUEST - Jones (#3), RES - Honoring Fayetteville High School Football Team and Athletic Department (#4)

Mailing address: 113 W. Mountain Street Fayetteville, AR 72701

www.fayetteville-ar.gov

RESOLUTION NO.

A RESOLUTION TO HONOR THE 2023 FAYETTEVILLE HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL TEAM AND THE FAYETTEVILLE ATHLETIC DEPARTMENT

WHEREAS, on December 2, 2023, the Fayetteville High School Football Team defeated Bentonville High School by a score of 22-16 at War Memorial Stadium in Little Rock to win the Class 7A State Championship; and

WHEREAS, the 2023 season was the team's first perfect season since 1952; and

WHEREAS, Quarterback Drake Lindsey was named most valuable player, with 3,561 yards and 51 touchdowns in the 2023 season and an average of 45 points per game; and

WHEREAS, earning 7A-West first team honors were Wide Receiver Kaden Spencer, who had 59 catches, 1,025 yards, and 11 touchdowns; Outside Linebackers Desmond Peterson and Crew Kvern; Defensive Linemen Jaxon Oliver and Isaiah Perez; and Cornerbacks Isaac Pearson and Kasey Lehman; and

WHEREAS, Outside Linebacker Luke Roblee was named the All-Conference Defensive Newcomer of the year; and

WHEREAS, earning All-Conference second team honors were Kicker Nathan Kachel; Linebacker Jeff Miller; Outside Linebacker Noah Janski; Safety Eli Rose; Wide Receiver Charlie Graves, who had 47 catches, 546 yards, and 10 touchdowns; and Running Back Christian Setzer, who had 202 rushes for 1,243 yards and 13 touchdowns, including five straight 100-yard games toward the end of the season and two touchdowns in the state title game; and

WHEREAS, receiving All-Conference honorable mentions were Wide Receivers Catavion Taylor and Landon Luck; Tight End Connor Kryzanowsky; Outside Linemen Ryan Lunningham, Drake Orsburne, and Eli Carpenter; Linebackers Reid Slankard and Jadon Holte; Defensive Back Walker Evins; and Safety Joey Ogden; and

WHEREAS, the Fayetteville High School Football Team and the entire Fayetteville Athletic Department exemplify the spirit, character, dedication, and commitment to excellence for which we should all strive, and Mayor Jordan and the City Council are pleased to recognize them at this time.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FAYETTEVILLE, ARKANSAS:

<u>Section 1</u>: That the City Council of the City of Fayetteville, Arkansas and Mayor Jordan hereby express their congratulations and sincerest wishes to the members of the 2023 Fayetteville High School Football Team and the Fayetteville Athletic Department for their continued success academically and athletically.

<u>Section 2</u>: That the City Council of the City of Fayetteville, Arkansas hereby invites the 2023 Fayetteville High School Football Team to attend the February 6, 2024 City Council meeting to be recognized for their achievements.