Wakarusa announces initial 2010 lineup

Last Friday, the folks at Wakarusa announced that the initial 2010 lineup would be released on Thursday, Jan. 14. That’s today.

The announcement, they noted, would be made exclusively to Wakarusa’s Facebook fans prior to any other release. As it turns out, there was no need to actually become a “fan” as the announcement was posted on their wall.

For those who jumped at the chance to find out early, the following is no surprise. However, if you missed out on all the fun of refreshing your browser over and over again this morning, here ya go:

Initial 2010 Wakarusa Lineup

The Disco Biscuits
Slightly Stoopid
John Butler Trio
Blue Traveler
Dweezil Zappa Plays Zappa
Railroad Earth (2 sets)
The Machine performs Pink Floyd
JJ Grey & MOFRO (2 sets)
Tea Leaf Green (2 sets)
Boombox (2 sets)
Black Joe Lewis (2 sets)
Ivan Neville’s Dumpstaphunk (2 sets)
James Zabiela
Split Lip Rayfield (2 sets)
Hayes Carll
Sub Swara
Stephen Kellogg & the Sixers
Reverend Peyton’s Big Damn Band (2 sets)
Trampled by Turtles (2 sets)
Big Gigantic
Truth & Salvage Co.
Fort Knox Five (2 sets)
Mountain Sprout (2 sets)
Band of Heathens
Last Waltz Ensemble (2 sets)
Cash’d Out
Earl Greyhound (2 sets)
Uglysuit (2 sets)
Passafire (2 sets)
Hoots & Hellmouth (2 sets)
Resident Anti-Hero

Early reaction on the Wakarusa Facebook page has been mixed in the first ten minutes since the announcement. Of the first 40 reactions, only 13 seem to be impressed. “Well..thats saves me a trip to Arkansas,” reads a comment from Jack Coleman.

“Headliners will come later guys. dont get ur panties in a wad,” says Brian White. White’s comment is probably pretty accurate. Last year’s initial lineup was very similar and it wasn’t until the third official lineup announcement was made that The Black Crowes were mentioned.

What’s your initial reaction?

If the above slideshow doesn’t load, visit the entire set at Flickr.