Burn ban issued in Washington County

Due to the extreme heat and dry conditions, county Judge Marilyn Edwards, in consultation with Fire Marshal Dennis Ledbetter, has issued a burn ban for all of Washington County effective immediately.

In other words, no outdoor burning of any kind (grilling is not considered outdoor burning) until further notice.

According to officials, the burn ban will be lifted only when weather and moisture conditions permit.

A violation of the county burn ban carries a potential $1,000 fine.

Other Arkansas counties under a burn ban this week include Carroll, Madison, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Sebastian, and 25 more.

For an up-to-date map of counties currently under burn bans, visit the Arkansas Forestry Commission website at arkfireinfo.org.