Residents appointed to Town and Gown Advisory Committee

A crane stands near Old Main on the University of Arkansas campus, as seen from East Lafayette Street in Fayetteville.

Photo: Todd Gill, Flyer staff

The Fayetteville City Council last night appointed six residents to serve on its newly created Town and Gown Advisory Committee.

The consultative group was formed in July to discuss issues commonly found in university towns across the country including campus expansion projects that affect nearby neighborhoods, on- and off-campus student housing needs, residential parking and noise complaints, and increased traffic during the school season.

In the past, university and city officials have addressed these things separately, but with record student enrollment and several major expansion projects underway on campus, city officials said they are looking for a more collaborative approach to solving ‘town and gown’ issues.

Besides a mayor-appointed City Council member which has not yet been chosen (Jordan selected Ward 2 Alderman Mark Kinion), the committee includes seven city employees, seven university representatives, seven Fayetteville residents.

The seven residents include one member from each of the city’s four residential wards, one University of Arkansas student living off campus in Fayetteville, and one local business owner or representative of the development community.

As with all of the council’s advisory committees, the board will meet regularly, and all meetings will be open to the public.

The group’s first meeting is set for 3 p.m. Monday, Oct. 15 at the Arkansas Research and Technology Park at 700 Research Center Blvd. in Fayetteville.

City Council member

Mark Kinion – Ward 2 Alderman

Community members

Barry Herzog – Ward 1 resident
Diane Warren – Ward 2 resident
Tommy Deweese – Ward 3 resident
Ryan Miller – Ward 4 resident
Joseph Kieklak – University of Arkansas student
Steve Clark – business owner/development community representative

City of Fayetteville representatives

David Dayringer – Fire
Yolanda Fields – Development Services/Community Services
Terry Gulley* – Transportation
David Jurgens* – Utilities
Don Marr – Mayor’s office
Jeremy Pate – Development Services
Greg Tabor – Police
Sharon Waters – Parking
* Only one representative will be considered a voting member at a time

University of Arkansas representatives

Melissa Harwood-Rom – Division of Student Affairs
Richard Hudson – Government Relations
Mike Johnson – Facilities Management
Bev Lewis – Athletics
Danny Pugh – Chancellor’s office
Tori Pohlner – Associated Student Government
Gary Smith – Transit and Parking