Mayor names appointees for City Council committees

Staff photo

With three new City Council members set to be sworn in next month, Fayetteville Mayor Lioneld Jordan is scheduled to formally present his recommendations for new appointees to the various council committees Tuesday night.

We obtained a copy of the mayor’s recommendations earlier today (see photo above).

If Mayor Jordan’s appointees are ratified by the council, Adella Gray will replace Brenda Boudreaux on the Street Committee, Justin Tennant will replace Bobby Ferrell on the Nominating Committee and Street Committee, and new aldermen Sarah Marsh, Martin Shoppmeyer, and Alan Long will each serve on the Water & Sewer Committee and the Ordinance Review Committee.

In other appointments, Matthew Petty will replace outgoing alderman Bobby Ferrell on the Advertising and Promotion Commission, Alan Long will replace Brenda Boudreaux on the Active Transportation Advisory Committee, and Sarah Marsh will replace Sarah Lewis on the Environmental Action Committee.

Jordan said he prefers to let the senior aldermen choose the committees on which they’d like to serve, and then fill in the remaining slots with new council members.

The council will consider the appointees during tonight’s (Dec. 18) City Council meeting, set for 6 p.m. inside room 219 of the Fayetteville Administration Building, located at 113 W. Mountain Street.