Fayetteville schools closed Tuesday, Feb. 4

A blast of winter weather covered the Fayetteville area with a blanket of snow Sunday afternoon.

Mount Sequoyah photo by Todd Gill, Flyer staff

After initially announcing that schools would be open, district officials canceled classes for Tuesday, Feb. 4 due to the winter weather.

“We will monitor the situation overnight and make any necessary announcements in the morning to accommodate any changes in weather and road conditions,” said Alan Wilbourn, the district’s public information officer, on Monday.

Traffic was light on Block Avenue despite a mostly clear road surface Monday afternoon.

Photo: Todd Gill, Flyer staff

Winter weather also caused closures for schools in Fayetteville and the surrounding areas on Monday. Tuesday’s closure marks the tenth snow day of the school year.

Tuesday’s classes will be made up on June 9 for regular calendar schools, and Feb. 13 for continuous learning calendar schools.

As of Monday afternoon, the main roads were clear in Fayetteville, but a second round of winter weather came early Tuesday morning that brought freezing rain and sleet to the area.

Trash and recycling pickups were delayed beginning Monday in Fayetteville. Routes will resume once city officials determine the roads are safe enough for trucks to continue servicing the area.

Here’s a list of other reported school closings for Tuesday:
– Bentonville School District
– Decatur School District
– Elkins School District
– Farmington School District
– Fayetteville Christian Elementary/High School
– Fayetteville Montessori
– Fayetteville School District
– Gravette School District
– Greenland School District
– Haas Hall Academy
– Huntsville Public Schools
– Lincoln School District
– Mountainburg School District
– NWACC (opening at 12 p.m.)
– The New School
– Pea Ridge School District
– Prairie Grove School District
– Rogers School District
– Shiloh Christian School District
– Siloam Springs School District
– Springdale School District
– The Sunshine House
– St. Johns Lutheran Child Care
– St. Joseph Catholic School
– University of Arkansas (campus opens at 12 p.m., classes at 12:30 p.m.)
– Washington County Head Start (closed, staff reports at 10 a.m.)
– West Fork School District

The full make-up day schedule for Fayetteville Public Schools is listed below.

Regular Calendar Schools make-up schedule

Continuous Learning Calendar Schools make-up schedule