Positions filled on city boards and committees

Robert Rhoads / City of Fayetteville

The Fayetteville Advertising and Promotion Commission this week chose Robert Rhoads to replace Bobby Ferrell, who is stepping down this month after two years on the commission.

Rhoads is a lawyer and 43-year resident of Fayetteville who served on the City Council from 2003 through 2010, and the A&P Commission from 2005 through 2010.

Other applicants included Jim Huson, owner of Doe’s Eat Place, and Darren Harper, an advertising creative director at Arvest Bank.

Also this week, the Fayetteville City Council approved the following 17 appointments to nine open board and committee positions:

Recommended by Mayor Lioneld Jordan:

Historic District Commission
– Jerry Hogan – One term ending 06/30/18
– Christine Myres – One term ending 06/30/18
– Will Watson – One term ending 06/30/18

Recommended by the Nominating Committee:

Animal Services Advisory Board
– Alyson Low – One Citizen at Large term ending 06/30/18
– Nicole Ferguson – One Citizen at Large term ending 06/30/18

Audit Committee
– Scott Pacheco – One unexpired term ending 12/31/16

Construction Board of Adjustments and Appeals
– Allison Quinlan – One unexpired term ending 03/31/20
– Joe Terminella – One unexpired term ending 03/31/20

Environmental Action Committee
– Josh Crittenden – One Citizen at Large term ending 06/30/18

Fayetteville Arts Council
– Nathan Morton – One Working Artist term ending 06/30/18
– Donna Smith – One Arts and Cultural/Citizen at Large term ending 06/30/18
– Sean Morrisey – One Arts and Cultural/Citizen at Large term ending 06/30/18

Telecommunications Board
– Khandice Baldwin – One unexpired term ending 06/30/17
– Aubrey Shepard – One term ending 06/30/19
– Allie Taylor – One term ending 06/30/19

Town & Gown Advisory Committee
– Alex Flemister – One University of Arkansas Student term ending 09/30/17

Walton Arts Center Council, Inc.
– Bill Waite – One term ending 06/30/18

Appointments are recommended by either Mayor Lioneld Jordan or the City Council’s Nominating Committee, which is comprised of one alderman from each of the city’s four ward as chosen by the mayor each year. Members of the 2015 Nominating Committee include Sarah Marsh (Ward 1), Martin Schoppmeyer (Ward 3), Alan Long (Ward 4), and Mark Kinion (Ward 2), who serves as chair.
Fayetteville citizen committees consist of mostly volunteer citizens who resident within the city limits and are registered voters. Vacancies are posted here on the Flyer once each quarter.

For more information about the various boards, committees, and commissions, visit fayetteville-ar.gov.