VOTE 2018: Washington County polls open until 7:30 p.m. Tuesday


Polls will be open until 7:30 p.m. Tuesday in Washington County for the 2018 General Election.

Voters can check their registration information by using the Arkansas Secretary of State’s Voter View website. The site also includes sample ballots for each district.

According to the county website, votes will be cast this year using ExpressVote, which is an electronic marking device that produces a paper ballot showing the voter’s exact selections.

Early voting totals in Washington County surpassed the 2014 midterm election by nearly 79 percent, according to county officials. By Monday evening, 33,733 people had voted early, compared to 18,871 in 2014.

Anyone registered to vote in Washington County may cast a ballot at any of the voting centers across the county.

Fayetteville City Council candidates

Eleven candidates are vying for seats on the Fayetteville City Council, including two incumbents.

Sonia Gutierrez, Kris Paxton and Olivia Trimble are running in Ward 1. The winner will replace Adella Gray, who is not seeking a fourth term on the council.

In Ward 2, Council member Mark Kinion faces Martin Bemberg and Raymond Burks. Kinion is seeking a third term on the council.

Lucas Regnier and Sloan Scroggin each hope to fill the seat currently held by Justin Tennant in Ward 3. Tennant has served since 2010, but is not seeking another four-year term.

In Ward 4, incumbent John La Tour faces Adam Fire Cat and Teresa Turk. La Tour is seeking a second term on the council.

Possible runoff elections

With more than two candidates in wards 1, 2 and 4, there is a possibility that a runoff election will be needed to determine a winner.

If a single candidate doesn’t secure a majority of votes, the two people with the most votes will square off in a runoff election unless the leading candidate receives more than 40 percent of the votes and is ahead of the runner-up by 20 percent.

Forum coverage

All of our City Council coverage of the local election can be accessed from our Vote 2018 page. Here are recaps from the local forums:

» Gutierrez, Paxton, Trimble face off in Ward 1 City Council forum
» Bemberg, Burks and Kinion face off in Ward 2 City Council forum
» Regnier and Scroggin face off in Ward 3 City Council forum
» Fire Cat, La Tour, Turk face off in Ward 4 City Council Forum

Ballot issues

The Public Policy Center at the University of Arkansas System Division of Agriculture created a guide to help voters make a more informed choice on the statewide issues. FYI, Issue 1 and Issue 3 will not be counted. Click here for more.

Voting centers

Registered voters in Washington County may cast a ballot at any of the following voting centers:

The Awakening Church, 5763 E Mission Blvd, Fayetteville
Baldwin Church of Christ, 4399 Huntsville Rd, Fayetteville
Central United Methodist Church, 6 W. Dickson, Fayetteville
Christian Life Cathedral, 1258 E. Millsap Rd, Fayetteville
Covenant Church, 4511 W. Wedington Dr, Fayetteville
Genesis Church, 205 W MLK Blvd, Fayetteville
Ridgeview Baptist Church, 1850 E Huntsville Rd, Fayetteville
Sang Avenue Baptist Church, 1425 N. Sang Ave, Fayetteville
Sequoyah Methodist Church, 1910 Old Wire Rd, Fayetteville
Shiloh Community Church, 4262 W. Mt. Comfort Rd, Fayetteville
Trinity Fellowship, 1100 Rolling Hills Dr, Fayetteville
Trinity Methodist, 1021 W Sycamore, Fayetteville
Wedington Woods Fire Station, 13496 Hwy 16, Fayetteville
Wheeler Fire Station, 6946 W Wheeler, Fayetteville
Yvonne Richardson Center, 240 E Rock St, Fayetteville

Calvary Church, 1000 N. Gutenshohn, Springdale
Cross Church, 1709 Johnson Rd, Springdale
Elmdale Baptist Church, 1700 W. Huntsville Rd, Springdale
First Church of the Nazarene, 2300 S 40th St, Springdale
Nob Hill Fire Station, 19375 Nob Hill Loop, Springdale
Oak Grove Baptist Church, 499 Oak Grove Rd, Springdale
Sonora Baptist Church 17330 E Hwy 412, Springdale
Springdale Rodeo Community Center, 1323 E Emma St, Springdale
Springdale Youth Center, 1000 Watson, Springdale
Turner Street Baptist Church, 4304 S Turner, Springdale

Other locations
Cane Hill College, 14219 College Rd, Canehill
Durham Community Building, 11699 S. Hwy 16, Elkins
Elkins Community Center, 162 Doolin Drive, Elkins
Elm Springs United Methodist Church, 118 N Elm, Elm Springs
Evansville Fire Station, 20493 S Hwy 59, Evansville
Main Street Baptist Church, 49 West Main St, Farmington
Goshen Community Center, 346 Clark St, Goshen
Greenland Community Building, 170 Letita St, Greenland
Johnson City Hall, 2904 Main St, Johnson
Lincoln Community Center, 112 N. Main St, Lincoln
Rheas Mill Community Building, 11871 N Wedington Blacktop Rd, Lincoln
Morrow Fire Station, 19738 Latta WC 10, Morrow
Prairie Grove Christian Church, 611 Wayne Villines Rd, Prairie Grove
Cincinnati Fire Station, 12700 Cincinnati Rd, Summers
Weddington Community Building, 15503 N. Jackson Hwy, Summers
St. Joseph’s Catholic Church, 110 E Henri De Tonit, Tontitown
Strickler Fire Station, 13635 W Hwy 265, West Fork
West Fork Community Center, 222 Weber St, West Fork
Blackburn Church, 10467 W. Devils Den Rd, Winslow
Boston Mtn. Fire Station, 1047 U.S. 71 South, Winslow
Brentwood Comm. Building, 16940 Hwy 71, Winslow