VOTE 2023: Polls open for special City Council election in Fayetteville

A sign directing voters stands outside the Yvonne Richardson Community Center. (Flyer photo/Todd Gill)

FAYETTEVILLE — Polling locations will be open until 7:30 p.m. Tuesday for the special City Council election.

Voting centers include Cornerstone Church of Christ (4377 Huntsville Road), Genesis Church (205 Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd), and the Yvonne Richardson Community Center (240 E. Rock St.).

The election will fill the Ward 1 vacancy left by Sonia Harvey, who resigned in June. Harvey’s term was set to run through Dec. 31, 2026.

The candidates include: David Phillips, a veteran and deputy city attorney in Springdale; Bob Stafford, an artist and small business owner; Katy Sager, a real estate attorney; and S. Robert Smith, a veteran and retired avionics engineer.

Meet the Candidates

The following candidates are running for the open Ward 1 seat in the Nov. 14 special election.

» Get to know the candidates
» See our coverage of the public forum

If necessary, a runoff election will be held Tuesday, Dec. 12.

In Arkansas, if a single candidate does not win a majority of the votes when more than two candidates are up for election, the two people with the most votes head to a runoff unless the leading candidate receives more than 40% of the votes and is ahead of the runner-up by 20%.

Ward 1 encompasses south and southeast Fayetteville, including the areas south of Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard and Huntsville Road. Mount Sequoyah, Happy Hollow Elementary, and Ramay Junior High School are also included in Ward 1.

The nonpartisan positions are decided by voters who live inside a candidate’s ward boundary, meaning only voters in Ward 1 can cast ballots in the special election (see a ward map here).