Fayetteville residents can apply for FEMA assistance

Photo by Eric Hobbs
Flood waters fill the roadways at the intersection of Walnut Avenue and Johnson Street in Fayetteville on April 25.

Fayetteville residents and business owners with property damage from the recent storms can now apply for federal assistance by registering with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

Thirteen Arkansas counties, including Washington and Benton counties, were declared federal disaster areas after storms caused significant damage to the state in late April.

Arkansans in any of the 13 declared counties can register online at disasterassistance.gov (mobile: m.fema.gov) or by calling 800-621-3362.

As for public property, such as the damage to Frisco Trail, it appears as though Washington County will meet the thresholds required to be eligible for federal disaster relief.

“We had to reach $664,000 in damages within the county,” said Don Marr, Fayetteville’s Chief of Staff. “The City of Fayetteville alone is estimated at about $1.2 million in damages due to the flooding.”