City Council races firmed up in Fayetteville

Three Fayetteville City Council seats have at least three official candidates, now that municipal filings have closed in Washington County.

By noon Friday, 15 candidates had submitted their paperwork during the 16-day filing period to run for municipal office.

Ward 4 is a packed race with seven candidates vying for outgoing Alderwoman Rhonda Adams’ seat: Ray Boudreaux, Michael Collins*, Craig Honchell, D’Andre Jones, John LaTour, Phillip McKnight and Robert Williams.

Mike Emery, who also ran for a Ward 4 seat in 2012, said in June he would run again this year, but later released a statement saying he decided to focus his energies on his positions on the Environmental Action Committee and the Housing Authority Board of Commissioners.

In Ward 1, incumbent Adella Gray will face two challengers this year: Sonia Davis Gutierrez and Paul Phaneuf.

Gray was first elected in 2006, and is the longest active member of the council. She ran unopposed in the 2010 general election.

It will be a three-way race in Ward 2 when incumbent Mark Kinion faces challengers Robert Patton and Joshua Crawford.

Kinion was elected to the City Council in 2010, defeating Adam Fire Cat to replace outgoing Alderman Kyle Cook. Kinion also ran for City Council in 2008, but lost a close race to Matthew Petty, who was re-elected in 2012.

Ward 3 Alderman Justin Tennant and Fayetteville City Attorney Kit Williams – both incumbents – will run unopposed.

We’ve posted profiles and Q&As for several candidates this year. We’re working to contact the others for profile pieces and interview questions. In the meantime, anyone not yet featured is urged to contact Flyer staff for inclusion in our election coverage. Our email address is [email protected].

* Michael Collins withdrew from the Ward 4 race on Aug. 26.